Five Sentence Fiction

Image

A lovely blogger named Lillie McFerrin holds a contest called Five Sentence Fiction each week.  She offers an image and/or word as inspiration, and you run off with the concept and form it into the best five sentences you can manage.  I discovered this on the blogs of the ladies I mentioned last post, and encourage you to check out their work at The Other Side of Sorrow (former student) and Anonymous Legacy (former fellow instructor).  Anyway, this is my first attempt at something like this, so let me know what you think!

Happy Mother’s Day

“Oh, I love chocolate covered cherries, you sweet girl!” the disgusting mountain of quivering flesh squealed from the couch that had become its permanent home as it ripped the top off the shiny red 3-pound box.

“I just wanted you to have your favorite on Mother’s Day, Mom,” I replied as she shoveled the morsels into her gaping mouth.

“I’m just going to have a few of these, then I need my sponge bath and pedicure, and don’t you dare paint them that hideous pink like last time!  Really, girl, I can’t believe I birthed such a stupid, unreliable, ugly creature who can’t even remember the polish color I like.”

I nodded and walked back into the kitchen where I wiped down the last few bottles from the case of Syrup of Ipecac I’d bought with cash at the next town over and tucked them in the bag with the slightly chocolaty syringe for later disposal.

 

 

So there it is.  Feel free to let me know what you think, good or bad.  I’m a big girl.  I can take it.  🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Five Sentence Fiction

  1. The ultimate in sweet and sour. Who gets to clean up that mess?

  2. Oooh, I could just see her, probably even more grotesque in my mind’s eye, but I really felt for her daughter and completely understood her future intended actions! Well written piece!

  3. Sassy with a twist! Love this, Mim. You always know how to put things on a storytelling slant. Welcome to the blogosphere!! 😀

  4. Bahaha love this. 🙂 Thanks for the link Mrs. Mim!!

  5. I hope she’s not too gross to get off that sofa when she needs to! Very funny, and smiling is a lovely way to start the day. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

